Bonds

baby and auntie

Baby elephant and Auntie

http://www.saveelephant.org/auntie-baby-elephant
/

Our niece is staying with us for a few days, and her innocence and bright spirit are exactly what I needed.

The daily news of the abuse and despair that dear elephants  endure around the world I read and hear on a daily basis sometimes wears me down.

At times I wonder what I am doing,  and if my actions will make a difference.

This afternoon as Hazel and I were watching videos of elephants she was so excited about the squeaks they were making. She asked me many questions about what they were doing.

While I was explaining to her about the squeaks the elephants were also flapping their ears.
“They are making wind” she told me,  wearing the biggest smile and looking up at me with big eyes full of curiosity and wonder.

Yes they are my dear,  yes they are.

Leave a Reply

