I wish to free you

When I look back on this day, now after almost two years my heart still hurts.

Knowing what I do now, I feel at a loss in so many ways…

To see the chains and hear the explanations, I feel the mahouts wanted to believe the reasons themselves.

I truly believe they had the best intentions at heart, the majority of them were young men from Cambodia who are working there to make a living.

No reasons though make chains ok!

I feel a great deal of sympathy and compassion for these young men though, because there was also a disconnect with them and the elephants.

To them, this was a job.  Traditionally mahouts and their elephants are family.  There is a deep bond between them, and in many places throughout Thailand this still exists.

I hesitate to judge because I do not know.

 

 

Leave a Reply

