A brilliant meeting

There is really something maginificent, almost electrifying to meet face to face with people who have worked alongside with for years.

Last week, I traveled to Falls Church Virginia for a very special event. A screening of Love and Bananas and my dear friend and a woman I greatly admire, Lek was going to be there.

I first met Lek while I was at Elephant Nature Park and then again during a march for Elephants and Rhinos in Chiang Mai.

That day she gave me a hug and asked me to travel with her to Myanmar. As much as I wanted to go I had to say no. Damn itinerary.

To be in the midst of incredible people, who fight every day for the care, protection and well being of elephants is to me the equivlanent of the Grammys.

I feel honored to stand among them and when meeting face to face, the connection is real. The cause brings us together, but love and compassion make us friends.

Thank You to everyone who made this event possible, and to my incredible friends, you are awesome.

Leave a comment